Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Footpath My Ass!

“Footpath My Ass!” by Terry Croteau ‘Bluebird’
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
I enjoyed this book. I felt like I was seeing the trail through Croteau’s eyes. Her journal is full of descriptions of the trail, her companions and the wildlife she encountered. I thought she gave good advice about equipment, and in general, tried to share her experience to help others who would hike after her trip. I had just read “In Beauty She Walks” by another older woman, and the experience and the places felt familiar.

However, her lack of editing, especially when she returned to the trail to finish her hike, was distracting to me. That’s why I gave it 3 stars.

In the last short part of 2 chapters, there were numerous misspellings. That was distracting but more so were the commas that were placed incorrectly. I was constantly rereading a sentence to make sense of it. The first three quarters of the book had some of this but read smoothly. I think her transcriber was probably editing her, and the end of the book she had no transcriber.

With that caveat, I recommend this book for armchair hikers. It’s an experience from 2006-2007, so some of the information is dated, but it was fun to read about her experience.

This is a review from my Goodreads account.

 

Make Me by Lee Child

This was one of the most interesting things about this book for us. Reacher has had a super-hero,  two dimensional aspect to his character in the prior books.  In this book, he becomes human.

On the minus side, we both felt that Child needed to use less words.  I’ve read most of them aloud to my husband while he drives, and I began skipping verbose passages and looking for the sentence that forwarded the plot.  For example, it used to be that when Reacher entered a Salvation Army, I knew that he would select a change of clothes, dump his old clothes in the trash and leave.  In this book, Child listed everything in the store available to buy and then gave us the action.  Just too much filler, and it stifled the plot until about the last third of the book, when the action took off.

Make Me by Lee Child (Jack Reacher #20). Dell paperback, 2016

 

I stopped reading this after 3 or 4 chapters. It was after I read the chapter by the mother whose baby was taken.

So I really haven’t read the book and probably won’t go back to it, although the beginning has stayed with me. I was filled with so much anguish myself from reading the mother’s point of view that I knew I had to stop reading the book.

The theme reminded me of The Light Between the Oceans by Stedman, which I did finish. It was an engrossing read but a sad one.

(This is my Goodreads review.  Dee Mills

Books from Friends

When I began this blog, I intended to write about books I had read or wanted to read, and I did that for awhile.

Now I’m going in a new direction and plan to write about life as a bookseller with a small but thriving business.  I will post about where I find books, what I pay for them, how I organize them, what resource tools I use, how I track inventory, packing, shipping and anything else that seems generally about bookselling.

This first post in the new arena is about acquiring books from friends.

  I think I’ve been lucky because in the course of the 6 years that I’ve been selling on eBay, my friends have sometimes offered me their books for free.  SN854136 Usually they are downsizing or moving and just want rid of a pile of books that look like too much work to load to Goodwill.  This is the latest batch that I acquired.  The cost was carrying about 6 boxes full of books down two flights of stairs and to the car.

Since beggars can’t be choosers, I am always a little apprehensive until I see the books.  I’m hopeful that they will be clean and something sellable.  I don’t expect all of them to be sellable, but hopefully enough to make the effort worthwhile.

This group turned out well.  I’ve sold 3 lots so far and have more listed.

SN854139SN854287SN854227 I’ve made about $20.

Nothing that I was given was a hidden treasure, but still they should give me another $120 if they all sell.

I always tell my friends that those books I don’t keep for selling, I will donate to a library for their booksales.  Once I get the books unpacked at home, I quickly go through them, separating those that aren’t in good enough condition for selling and any others that I recognize will not sell.  Those go into a box for the library.

Through the years, I’ve sent a lot of friends’ books to the library. I’ve also sold my share.  I think it’s been a fair exchange.

Free books haven’t all come from friends either.  One time I spotted an ad for a bookshop going out of business about 30 miles away. Come and get them for free, it said.  We filled the car with books from floor to ceiling!  And just last weekend, I ran across a yardsale that was giving everything away and asking for a donation of whatever seemed fair to you.  I found a great lot of quilting magazines and books that I’m hoping will sell.

These pictures are of lots still for sale in my eBay store at Ducksworth Books

 

Green Romances

I came across this in a newsletter called All About Romance.  It’s a list of ‘Green Romances’ listing ‘books with characters who care about the environment and are actively engaged in protecting it.’

European Historical Romances

  • A Spear of Summer Grass (2013) by Deanna Raybourn (mostly set in Kenya) – J. Ryder White is a conservationist. (B+ at AAR)

American Historical Romances

  • Tides of Love (2000) by Tracy Sumner – Noah Garrett is a marine biologist. (B- at AAR)

Contemporary Romances

  • Princess Diaries Series (2000 – 2009) by Meg Cabot (young adult) – Mia Thermopolis is a teenage green activist. (A/A- at AAR)
  • Night Magic (1995) by Lynn Emery – Savannah St. Julien is a lawyer for an environmentalist group, and Paul Honore is an environmental engineer.
  • His, Unexpectedly (2011) by Susan Fox – Jenna Fallon is a green activist, and Mark Chambers is a marine biologist. (B+ at AAR)
  • Animal Dreams (1991) by Barbara Kingsolver (fiction) – Codi Noline is a biology teacher; there are environmental concerns about a river.
  • Dream Lake (2012) by Lisa Kleypas – Alex Nolan is a contractor specialising in green buildings. (B at AAR)
  • Smooth Talking Stranger (2009) by Lisa Kleypas – Dane (secondary character) has founded an environmental monitoring equipment company. (B at AAR)
  • Ride With Me (2012) by Ruthie Knox – Lexie Marshall and Tom Geiger are environmentally conscious.
  • Project Justice Series (2011 -) by Kara Lennox – The founder and head of Project Justice, Daniel Logan, is an oil tycoon who invests in renewable energies.
  • Shipwrecked With Mr. Wrong (1/2013) by Nikki Logan – SIM-1654 – Hope Briar is a marine biologist.
  • Call Me Irresistible (2011) by Susan Elizabeth Phillips – Meg Koranda has environmental concerns about a new golf course. (B+ at AAR)
  • Lover’s Knot (2006) by Emilie Richards – Isaac Taylor works for an environmental non-profit; backdrop is the creation of Shenandoah National Park.
  • Always and Forever (1/2013) by Farrah Rochon – HKR-314 – Jamal Johnson is an architect using green technology. (B+ at AAR)
  • Shelter Bay Series (2010 -) by JoAnn Ross – The whole series is set in a US certified “green town”. (B+/B/B- at AAR)
  • The Same Last Name (4/1983) by Kathleen Gilles Seidel – HAR-2 – April Ramsay is a forest ranger.
  • Freefall (2013) by Jill Sorenson – Hope Banning is a park ranger. (B- at AAR)
  • Set the Dark on Fire (2009) by Jill Sorenson – Shay Phillips is researcher for the Department of Fish and Game. (B+ at AAR)
  • Stranded With Her Ex (4/2011) by Jill Sorenson – SIM-1654 – Daniela Flores and Sean Carmichael are marine biologists. (A- at AAR)

Alternate Reality

  • Memoirs of Lady Trent Series (2013 -) by Marie Brennan – Isabella Camherst is a naturalist and conservationist. (B+ at AAR)
  • Kiss of Fury (2009) by Deborah Cooke – Alexandra Madison has designed a green car.
  • Catch of a Lifetime (2010) by Judi Fennell – Angel Tritone is a green activist mermaid.
  • Heart of the Warrior (2000) by Lindsay McKenna – Inca is a green activist.

 

This is a list put together by a public library librarian for her patrons who requested books like 50 Shades of Grey.

 

Books like 50 SHADES OF GREY.

‘The Help’ Readalikes

Passed on from someone on Fiction-L

Thanks for all of your suggestions for readalikes for The Help.  Here is the compiled list.

Right as Rain–Bev Marshall

Sula–Toni Morrison

Color Purple–Alice Walker

To Kill a Mockingbird–Harper Lee

Big Girls don’t Cry–Connie Briscoe

Dreamer–Charles Johnson

Mudbound–Hillary Jordan

Four Spirits–Sena Jeter Naslund

Persia Cafe–Melany Nelson

Freshwater Road–Denise Nicholas

We are all Welcome Here–Elizabeth Berg

Secret Live of Bees–Sue Monk Kidd

Blanche White Series–Barbara Neely
The Sweet Potato Queen–Jill Conner Browne

Saving Cee Cee Honeycutt–Beth Hoffman

Trouble the Water–Nicole Seitz

The Angels of Morgan Hill–Donna Van Liere

Clover–Dorie Sanders

Queen of Palmyra–Minrose Gwin  (out in Apr’2010)

One other web link a librarian gave me may have a few more options:

www.stcharleslibrary.org/blog/readers/2010/01/if_you_enjoyed_the_help.html

From Fiction-L

%d bloggers like this: